Carroll EMC Awards 2019 Bright Ideas Grants - Haralson County

Carroll EMC Awards 2019 Bright Ideas Grants - Haralson County

Carroll EMC recently awarded grants to local educators to fund creative and innovative educational projects for students in their classrooms. Grants of up to $1,000 were awarded to public school teachers, teaching grades Pre-K – 12, for projects in any subject.

Bright Ideas grants are funded through the donations of Carroll EMC Members who participate in Operation Round Up®, a program where Members elect to “round-up” their electric bills to the nearest dollar. The program is overseen by Carroll EMC Foundation trustees and funds a variety of community service projects including Bright Ideas, student scholarships, and many health and human services programs.

For 2019, 84 grants were awarded, totaling $65,959. These grants will help 84 teachers in 31 schools and will affect hundreds of children in our communities.

Included in this funding cycle were:

  • Buchanan Elementary School
    • Bethany Pittman
    • John Hester
    • Erin Davis
  • Buchanan Primary School
    • Lori Easterwood
    • Amanda West
  • Haralson County High School
    • Kim Ivester
  • Tallapoosa Primary School
    • April Roberts
  • West Haralson Elementary School
    • Julie Craig
  • Jones Elementary School
    • Taylor Nappi
    • Christy Krasinski
  • Bremen Academy
    • Wanda Johnson
    • Meghan Meadows
  • Bremen Middle School        
    • Pamela Coats
    • Kristen Westmoreland
    • Jordy Wilson
    • Sharon Folds
    • Susan Secord
    • Chloe Wilson

Applications for 2020 will be accepted beginning August 1 and can only be submitted via the cooperative’s website,

Page Features: